1990 The Colla Collection – Will Clark Limited Edition Set

1990_the_colla_collection_will_clark_box_front

Will Clark Limited Edition Set – The Colla Collection

I have had The Colla Collection Will Clark Limited Edition Set on my radar for some time and decided it was time to add it to my collection. I found this set on eBay for $5.00 and is #’d 14,635 of 15,000.

Sports photographer Barry Colla began printing and selling licensed photo postcards of popular players from 1989 through 1993. Starting in 1990 through 1992 he was also licensed to print 2-1/2 x 3-1/2 sized trading cards featuring high-gloss borderless photos on a basic front. The back featured stats, career notes, personal data and team logos.

The 12-card sets were sold in small decorative cardboard boxes (pictured on the left). In 1990, there were 15,000 Will Clark Limited Edition sets produced along with three other sets that I know of, Jose Canseco (20,000 sets), Kevin Maas (7,500 sets), and Don Mattingly (15,000 sets). He also printed All Star team boxed sets of 24 cards in 1992 and 1993.

Check out the 12-card set below:

The backs are white but some for some reason a few of them came out looking gray on my scans.

Posted on February 10, 2016, in Will Clark Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great set of cards, I haven’t seen some of those cards/photos. I particular like the hat on card #1. I remember it from when I was a kid but had forgotten about it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment